State Election Commission ensured smooth counting of votes on DDC Constituencies

The StateElection Commissioner (SEC), K K Sharma has lauded the efforts of all theemployees engaged in the counting of votes for all the DDC Constituencies thatbegan at 9.00 am today in all the 20 Districts of Jammu &Kashmir.  

The SECsaid that despite the cold conditions prevalent in the Valley and other partsof Jammu province, officials associated with the counting and alliedarrangements have put in extraordinarily efforts by reporting at the designatedplaces for counting halls at 06.00 am.  While the actual counting began at09.00 am, and was complete in many places and  is likely to continue tillmidnight in few of the Constituencies.

The StateElection Commission shared  the trends and the results of Constituenciesas these were pouring in through its website by updating theinformation on it on  a continuous basis.  The information madeavailable on the Commission’s website was displayed in all  the mediacenters set up by every district at the venue of counting.  The StateElection Commission appreciated the efforts of NIC, State Informatics Officer,Abhay Kumar, his team  and also the team led by Baiju Ubbot.

The StateElection Commission also informed that counting was deferred inDrugmulla,   Kupwara and Hajin-A, Bandipora constituencies in view ofa question that has arisen on eligibility of one each contesting candidatesfrom the seats and added that a final decision in this regard shall be takenafter taking all aspects into consideration.

While thecounting of votes is still going-on, the results have been declared for 247constituencies in which BJP has won 70 seats, NC with 57, independents 44, PDP26, INC 22, JKAP 10, JKPC 6, CPI-M 5, JKPM 3, JKNPP 2, PDF and BSP one each.

SEC alsocomplimented all the district administration for the arrangements that were putin place for the counting process besides ensuring smooth conduct of theelection process.

Editor JK News Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

PAGD Bags Over 100 Seats, BJP Emerges As Single Largest Party By Winning 74 Seats

Wed Dec 23 , 2020
The seven-party Gupkar alliance led by Farooq Abdullah was ahead in the seat tally in the maiden District Development Council polls in Jammu and Kashmir by winning or leading in 112 seats out of 280 on Tuesday, followed by the BJP which emerged as the single largest party as it […]
%d bloggers like this: